Christian's Chronicles

July| Vol. 22 No. 8.02 | Christian's Chronicles © 2015 – All rights reserved.

Home Alone

After a much longer than expected adventure that involved volunteering, space-A travel, and weather ranging from sweltering heat to freezing cold to just right, buying, losing, finding, and leaving luggage, making new friends and reuniting with old and not-so-old ones, I have finally come back to California.

Alone.

Rick and I parted ways in Hawaii, where he decided to settle down and spend the rest of his days surfing and soaking up the sun on the beach. I suppose his pink tights and ubiquitously  bare chest fit in better on the sandy shores of Waikiki anyway. Plus, he may have found a new sponsor to document his adventures… It remains to be seen how that pans out.

In memory of our travels, here is a small slideshow. I will probably create a Facebook album honoring our time together, but I’m just too lazy for that right now. Sorry, Rick.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Since I have returned to the land of milk and honey, I will also endeavor to check up on my various diseases that I may or may not have contracted… No, it is not what you are thinking (you need mental floss to clean your dirty mind and prevent moral decay!), I had a case of staph (or something similar) when a cut I sustained while doing volunteer work in the Philippines got infected. I was on antibiotics for about 10 days, and things seemed to improve (my fever went away) but it wouldn’t hurt to get an opinion from a doctor who has a better command of the English language than the dear Doctor who, with the best of intentions, wanted to give me rabies shots because of a slight misunderstanding regarding the word ‘nail’ as the source of my scratches.

Oh, and I could also use a cleaning and a check-up at the dentist. My two front teeth are not only the crowning jewels of my winning smile, they are also crowns I recently had done, after root canals and decades of otherwise uneventful existence following an incidence that had me pop them back into place after an elbow had dislodged them, inward into my mouth. By the way, the activity that was the root cause (pun intended) of my incisor-related incident was not the type of blissful violence you may be thinking of.  It occurred during amateur wrestling practice. It is a little-known fact that I incurred far more injuries during my stint in the sport of amateur wrestling than I did in the cage as a professional mixed-martial-arts fighter. It seems counter-intuitive, but it is true.

This post is now long enough to satisfy the short attention span of the average Chronicle reader, and food is also calling my name. So I will wrap it up, with a tearful goodbye to Rick, and memories of the glory days of my travels, wrestling, and MMA lingering in the back of my mind as I look to the future, all the way to the year 2000, to ponder who might be the next Featured Chronicle Reader?

Stay tuned!

The Management

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2014 by in The Chronicles and tagged , , , .